LibGuides: Page 1+ Alma &amp; Primo Guide: Resource Management

Resource Management Basics in Alma

Metadata Editor

Metadata Editor Overview [video] - The Alma Metadata Editor is a working space for managing Records, Templates, and Rules.
Navigating the Metadata Editor Page [web page] - Information about working in the new Metadata Editor page in Alma.
Editing Records in the Metadata Editor [video]- How to edit bibliographic records in the Metadata Editor.
Record Actions in the MD Editor [video] - Instructs the user on the actions that are able to be performed on records in Alma, such as duplicating a record, adding an administrative note, or assigning it to another cataloguer.

Configuration

MD Configuration and Controlled Vocabularies [video]- An overview of Alma's available metadata configuration options, as well as defining what Controlled Vocabulary are, and how to create and use them.

Working with Bibliographic Records [web page] - How to work with bibliographic records in Alma such as physical, electronic, and digital resources.
Working with Holding Records [web page] - How to create and edit holding records using Metadata Editor, an import job, or and Change Holding Information job, in Alma.
Working with Record Templates [video] - Learn to create templates in Alma that allow pre-define fields to be included in original cataloguing records.

Searching

Searching in Alma [web page] - How to conduct simple and filtered searches in Alma, what can be searched for, and what can be searched for depending on staff roles.
Searching External Resources [web page] - How to search within local resources in Alma, such as the Institution Zone, Network Zone, and the Community Zone.
Search and Browse in the Metadata Editor [video] - How to search external resources, browse shelf listings, and browse bibliographic headings, in Alma's Metadata Editor.

Browsing

Browsing Bibliographic Headings [web page] - How to search bibliographic headings within Alma, to support various cataloguing workflows. Can search by author name, subject, series, and title.
Browsing the Shelf Listing [web page] - How to use the Browse Shelf Listing feature in Alma, which provides item-level call number Institution Zone browse capability from within the MD Editor for holdings information.

Call Numbers, Libraries, and Locations [video] - Instructs how call numbers can be mapped from the bibliographic record to the holdings record in Alma.
Call Number Parsing, Barcode Generation, and Description Templates [video] - Instructs on how to use Call Number Parsing, Barcode Generation, and Validation, as well as working with and configuring Description Templates.
Searching for Titles by Call Number Range [video] - Instructs on how to use Alma's advanced search to search for titles in a range of call numbers using relational operators (can be used to find materials for a specific or range of subjects)

Working with Reminders [web page] - How to work with and manage reminders in Alma, for individual bibliographic records.
Cataloguing Privileges [web page] - Overview of the cataloguing privileges in Alma, and how to define a hierarchy for better control of the privileges that allow the user to edit bibliographic and authority records.
Cataloguing Permission Levels [video] - Overview of all the cataloguing permissions within Alma, and their roles, as well as how to assign them to staff members.

CLO Cataloguing Program

The CLO Cataloguing Program has been established to empower members from every institution to participate in shared practices, ensuring standardization of bibliographic records and a consistent user experience. The Program is managed and organized by the CLO Metadata Steering Committee and OCLS.

Each college has at least one CLO Cataloguing Program member who participates in regular training and discussions. A list of Program Members from each college can be found in Confluence as well as recordings from each training session.

For questions about the program, contact Stacey Boileau.

Shared Resource Management Policies, Standards, and Documentation

In addition to CLO Metadata Standards, documentation has been created to support cataloguing, including workflows, guidelines and other documents.

Content in this section has been separated into Shared Workflows and Guidelines to ease discovery. Find all documentation related to Resource Management in Page 1+ below.

Shared Resource Management Workflows

Resource Management - No Acquisitions Data - Workflow
The purpose of this document is to provide workflows for catalogue resources without acquisitions data in the Page 1+ Alma and Primo VE environments.
Resource Management - Configure External Search Resources - Workflow
Provides a workflow for configuring Search Resources to add recommended external resources when searching for bibliographic records outside the Network Zone.
Resource Management - Loading Non-MARC Records from Excel - Workflow
Describes workflow for cataloguing using non-MARC records from an Excel spreadsheet. This process is used when MARC records are NOT available for a specific collection, e.g., equipment
Resource Management – Batch Updating Bibliographic Record Sets Using Normalization – Workflow
Describes how to perform batch updating for MARC 21 data in select bibliographic records in Alma
Using Import Profiles for E-Resources Import – Workflow
Describes workflow for using e-resource import profiles to create inventory by loading MARC records obtained from vendors
Setting Up Periodical Prediction Patterns
Describes how to set up prediction patterns for periodicals so that new issues are automatically populated and easy to receive
Local Extensions
Describes how to identify local fields in a networked environment that need to be preserved when linking records to the NZ and ensure they are tagged appropriately.
Extract Bibs to work with in MARCEdit
MARCEdit can be used to determine whether local fields are correctly followed by $9LOCAL, used to review local field use in your catalogue, help you find records which may need to be edited, and provide you with a list of fields that you should include in any normalization rules needed to update records.
Use a Normalization Process to Edit Access URL
NEW! Using 956 Local Extension Field for Thumbnail Image
Describes how to use the 956 local extension field when using the hosted cover image in the 856 is provided in a record.

Resource Management Guidelines

Network Zone and Local Fields Guideline - NEW 2024/09/20
Maps and standardizes the use of MARC fields in the shared Network Zone vs fields used at the local level.
CLO Brief Record Level Rules - 2024/02/07
What are they and why do we need them.
Implementing CLO Brief Record Level Rules
Instructions for standalone colleges.
CLO Brief Levels Based on Content - 2024/02/07
A text file for standalone colleges to copy and paste into Alma.
Cataloguer Privileges
Set up instructions for IZ administrators