OCLS has reviewed the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features for Alma and Primo VE, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
| New Feature | Description |
|
Digital Resource Management Select DC Field to Validate Matching |
The Dc Bib Find Matches Validation Task, which checks if there are any duplications with existing Dublin Core titles, can now be configured to check for duplications either by matching the dc:identifier field or the dc:title field using the DC Field and Search Index drop-down list in the Task Parameter. If no value is selected from this drop-down menu, the task will not check for duplications. |
|
Electronic Resource Management Automatic Upload of Electronic Holdings from Elsevier is Now Based on Unique ID |
Elsevier autoholdings transitions from ISSN/ISBN matching to a unique key matching approach to decrease instances of multi-matches that require manual handling. |
|
Electronic Resource Management Possibility to Define Linking Parser Parameters for Database Collections in Collection Level to be Used by CDI Direct Linking |
Institutions can now define Community Zone defined linking parameters at the collection level for database-type collections that were defined this way in the Community Zone. Linking parameters for database collections are being added gradually to the Community Zone, with an initial focus on Gale and ProQuest collections, and notifications will be provided through content release notes and the Community Zone update task list. |
|
Physical Resource Management Improved Handling of Bibliographic Records Upon Physical Holdings' Relink or Deletion |
Holdings relinking has been updated to allow users to select how to handle the bibliographic record if it has no remaining inventory. |
|
Primo VE Support External Resources in Collection Discovery |
Records from external sources can now be loaded into Primo VE to collections managed in Alma. This functionality is disabled by default and requires additional configuration to be enabled. For more information on how to configure this feature, please see: Adding External Records to Collections for Discovery |
|
Primo VE Verbatim Search Option for CDI Searches |
Verbatim search functionality is enabled by default when using the equals exact phrase or contains exact phrase search operators, or when phrases are enclosed in double quotes. You will need to contact Ex Libris Support to disable it. |
|
Primo VE Retain Research History between Sessions |
Primo Research Assistant will now save research history, categorized under Today, Last 1-7 days, Year, and the number of questions asked for each topic. This feature will be enabled by default, with additional codes added to support the display labels |
|
Metadata Management Browse Shelf Listing Enhancements |
More than just cataloguers can view the shelf list and author information displays separately in its own column for adding call number cutters. Lastly, call number auto-population includes the local 09X fields. |
|
User Experience, Accessibility & Infrastructure Enhanced Restrictions on user changes from separate libraries |
If the API Key is set to a library the API will not be able to add/remove/edit roles in other libraries. Restrictions on user manager role library scope can be enforced. |
|
User Experience, Accessibility & Infrastructure UX Improvements to Manage Sets Page |
User can now create Labels for sets and filter by them. Faceting of sets can be saved for reuse or excluded completely. When combining sets it comes up as a sliding panel. |
|
Analytics and Insights Customer Activation of Springshare Integration Profile |
This can now be activated without ExLibris. |
|
Analytics and Insights/Collaborative Networks E-inventory Subject Area Portfolio Details for NZ Enhanced |
Enabling the analysis of NZ eResources with IZ by adding the following fields: Electronic collection type description, Electronic collection MMS ID, Material Type, Electronic Collection Type. |
|
Analytics and Insights Editions Identification Enhanced |
New folder (Edition Simplified) and fields (combined, num, text) allows the differentiation between editions of the same title for reporting purposes. |
|
Analytics and Insights Rialto Analytics Moved |
Rialto Analytics moved to the Shared folder along with Alma |
OCLS has reviewed the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features for Alma and Primo VE, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
| New Feature | Description |
|---|---|
|
Acquisitions New Fields Added to the "Update PO Lines Information" Job
|
For a list of the new fields, see Alma Release Notes and watch the Additional Fields Added to PO Line Information Job video:Additional Fields Added to PO Line Information Job - YouTube. |
|
Acquisitions Copy PO Line Price to Replacement Cost
|
The PO line price can now be copied to the item's Replacement cost field using a customer parameter. The price will be copied upon PO line creation, change of PO line price, and addition or removal of items in the PO line, and there will be an option to update the price when copying. For additional information, see Alma Release Notes and watch the Copy POL Price to Replacement Cost video |
|
API Support Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)
|
Alma can be configured to recommend or enforce MFA, using the mfa_for_alma_hep user management parameter. If enabled, the user will receive an e-mail with a login in link, in addition to their login in Alma. |
|
Digital Resource Management IPv6 Now Supported for IP Range Access Rights
|
IP addresses using the IPv6 format are now supported when configuring access rights for digital representations according to IP range. |
|
Electronic Resource Management DARA Recommendation to Use Upload Electronic Holdings Integration with All Relevant Provider(s)
|
DARA now recommends the use of upload integration for all relevant providers' electronic holdings. |
|
Fulfillment and Resource Sharing Option to Bulk Remove 'Transit For Reshelving' Status
|
The "Change physical items information" job can now be set to remove the "Transit For Reshelving" status from items. |
|
Fulfillment and Resource Sharing Exclude Non-Workdays Days from Expiry Period
|
To prevent lending requests from expiring during non-workdays, Alma now enables you to set days to exclude from the expiry period calculation |
|
Metadata Management Include Deleted Holdings When Publishing Deleted Bibliographic Record to OCLC |
Institutions can now customize the "Publish bibliographic record (DataSync) to OCLC" profile to include all deleted holdings of the bibliographic record in the published file. This facilitates OCLC in matching their OCLC symbols and processing the deletion. This feature needs to be enabled. |
|
Metadata Management New Fields Available to Display in the Physical Items Search Results |
Six fields are now available in the physical items search configuration: Public note, Fulfillment note, Internal notes, Statistics notes, Receiving date, Receiving operator. These fields need to be activated. |
|
Physical Resource Management Creating Multiple Items for a Holdings Record Using Item Templates |
These five new columns are now available to activate in the physical items list table: Condition, Public note, Fulfillment note, Internal note 1, Statistics note 1. These columns need to be activated. |
|
Primo VE Integration with PressReader |
By using the Primo Search Webhook configuration, institutions can facilitate the exploration of PressReader news content via Primo VE |
|
User Experience, Accessibility, and Infrastructure Configuration of CSP (Content Security Policy) Headers |
Five new content security policy headers can be enabled and configured for allowed domains. Four directives (frame-ancestors, object-src, worker-src, upgrade-insecure-requests) are active by default and cannot be disabled. You can add additional domains to the allowed list. This feature can be enabled/needs to be configured. |
|
User Experience, Accessibility, and Infrastructure Enable Cloud App Activation per Role |
Administrators can configure Cloud App usage to be limited to users with specific roles and/or to users who are given the new Cloud App Operator role. |
|
User Experience, Accessibility, and Infrastructure Display Related Requests for Libraries |
Users can now view requests related to a specific library by selecting Display related requests from the more actions menu for a library under Configuration > General > Add a Library or Edit Library Information > Libraries. |
OCLS has reviewed the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features for Alma and Primo VE, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
|
|---|
OCLS has tested the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features for Alma and Primo VE, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
|
New Feature |
Description |
Notes |
|
Acquisitions – Fund Editor – Expended and Encumbered Balances as Links |
Links to a list of related orders to see which PO lines caused encumbrances and expenditures on the fund balance |
There are many enhancements and changes in Acquisitions for this working in this area to review |
|
Administration and Infrastructure – New Digital Adoption Tool |
Starting with this release, Ex Libris is gradually deploying Pendo |
This tool must be configured for use |
|
Administration and Infrastructure - Added Option to Edit User from Alma User Card |
Staff can access user details directly from a task list through a linkable username |
|
|
Analytics – New ‘Configurations (Limited)’ Subject Area |
This subject area enables you to create reports to answer business questions related to Fulfillment policies and Terms of Use |
|
|
Digital Resource Management – Display of Microsoft Office Documents Now Supported by Digital Viewer |
Word, PowerPoint and Excel documents now supported |
|
|
Electronic Resource Management – Average MARC Record Quality Measured in CZ Collections |
Bibliographic ranking now available for CZ collections |
|
|
Electronic Resource Management – Link Resolver Usage Added to Portfolio Search Results |
A counter showing how many times patrons were shown the portfolio’s service vs. how many times they clicked through using the link resolver |
|
|
Physical Resource Management – Option to Append to Existing Note Field in the Job Change Physical Items |
This is useful for adding a note to all items in a set without erasing previous notes |
|
|
Physical Resource Management – Running Jobs on Physical Holdings Sets |
Simplifies the process when having to manage physical holdings only |
|
|
Primo VE – Enable Users to Filter or Expand Citation Trail Results |
Can be configured to include CDI collections that did not have access to full text |
This feature needs to be enabled when configuring views. |
|
Primo VE – Preserve the Formatting of Citations Copied from Primo (NERS #8157) |
The Citation export action now saves the citation to the clipboard in Rich Text Format (RTF) and retains the citation’s formatting when copied to Word documents. When using a text editor such as Notepad, the text is copied without formatting |
|
|
Resource Management – Creating Itemized Physical, Digital and Electronic Title Sets Using MMS ID |
Previously, MMS ID could be used only when creating All Titles itemized sets |
|
OCLS has reviewed the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features and resolved issues/bugs, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
|
New Feature |
Description |
Notes |
|
Primo VE |
Resource Recommender now supports the following enrichments so that the search query does not have to exactly match the searchable tag to display the matching recommendations: synonyms, inflections, stop words, and words ordered differently from searchable tag. |
For existing resource recommendations, indexing is required, The next full indexing is planned for the beginning of August. |
|
Primo VE |
CDI document attributes provide more information about the type of record and complement the existing resource types. |
This functionality is disabled by default. |
|
Primo VE |
You can now display the Item Policy in Primo VE. This information displays in Primo VE only if the Item Policy field is configured in Alma's Physical Item Editor. |
This functionality is disabled by default. |
|
Primo VE |
This enhancement enables users to view all library notices and choose whether to receive them or not. |
This functionality is disabled by default. |
|
Acquisitions |
The next-generation Alma UI design is now available for the PO Lines task list. In this release, individual users can opt-in to try out the new task-list layout, or continue using the classic version of the layout. |
This feature needs to be enabled. |
|
Resource Management Metadata Editor Enhancements: Undo Remove, Cut and Paste Field Actions |
Previously, the removal of fields from a bibliographic record could not be undone. A new functionality called "Undo Remove, Cut, Paste Field" is introduced that enables catalogers to undo such actions. |
This feature is applied automatically. |
|
Resource Management |
Alma's import mechanism was enhanced to include the option to match on the title type - electronic or physical. |
This feature needs to be enabled. |
|
Resource Management |
Currently, when Alma gets an open URL from Primo, it tries to find resources according to three main methods: Match by identifier; Match by title and author; Search by title only ("Fuzzy Match"). Institutions now have the option to avoid "Fuzzy Match" attempts. |
This feature needs to be configured. |
|
Administration and Infrastructure |
Previously, the Public Key associated with an S/FTP profile remained static and could not be updated or refreshed. However, this constraint has now been rectified, and users can now refresh the Public Key |
This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Digital Resource Management |
You can now assign titles to collections automatically based on a logical query instead of assigning them manually. |
This feature needs to be configured. |
|
Fulfillment - Course Reserves |
You can now search for a citation within a reading list in Alma by keyword, citation ID, creator, etc. |
This feature will be applied automatically. |
OCLS has reviewed the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features and resolved issues/bugs, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
|
New Feature |
Description |
Notes |
|
Acquisitions |
It is now possible to edit certain fields in the lines of closed invoices. This allows institutions to handle data corrections caused by manual errors. |
This feature will be applied automatically. It can be disabled. |
|
Analytics Change to Analytics New Layout Rollout Schedule and Known Issues |
The schedule of the phased rollout of the new analytics user interface was changed. There are several known issues regarding scheduling reports when moving to the new analytics interface. |
This feature needs to be enabled currently, but will be applied automatically in August. |
|
Fulfillment |
It is now possible to delete Notes as well as other patron information from closed loans, fines and fees, requests, and resource-sharing requests. |
This feature needs to be configured. |
|
Resource Management |
During May, the semi-annual re-indexing will be run. Features or resolved issues that require re-indexing to be fully functional will be addressed by the May semi-annual re-indexing. |
This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Resource Management |
Alma now evaluates the completeness and richness of MARC 21 bibliographic records. This is reflected in a new Bibliographic Rank, meant to provide a helpful tool for libraries to identify records that may need attention. |
This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Resource Management Searching Records by Bibliographic Rank
|
A new search option for titles is added to aid libraries in identifying records within a specific range of the new Bibliographic Rank that require attention. |
This feature will be applied automatically after the completion of the May se-annual re-indexing.
|
|
Electronic Resource Management Community Zone Updates Task List to Include Indication Regarding Collection Level Management
|
This is for institutions to see what the planned changes are to CZ content. This enables institutions to prepare in advance for any potential change which has an impact on the institution’s electronic CZ linked inventory. |
This feature will be fully functional only after the completion of the May semi-annual re-indexing. |
|
Physical Resource Management |
An increased range of physical material types, including generic options that institutions can customize according to their requirements. |
This feature can be customized. |
|
Administration and Infrastructure |
It is now possible to find all users to which a particular role profile was applied in the past. A logical set of these users can also be saved, and used as input for the Update/Notify Users job, which can update the roles assigned to the users in the set. |
This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Primo VE |
It enables you to customize the mapping of system resource types in Primo VE. |
This feature can be customized. |
|
Primo VE |
Previously, the Is (Exact) Advanced Search option for Author, Title, and Subject field searches returned results that included the exact phrase, but it could also contain other words. With this enhancement, the name of the Is (Exact) Advanced Search option has been changed to Contains exact phrase. And there is a new Equals exact phrase Advanced Search option that returns results that contain only the exact phrase for Author, Title, and Subject field searches. |
This feature needs to be configured. |
|
PrimoVE |
It enables a new resource type filter ribbon that appears under the basic search box to allow users to filter their results by resource types. |
This feature needs to be enabled and configured. |
OCLS has tested the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features for Alma and Primo VE, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
| New Feature | Description | Notes |
|---|---|---|
|
Resource Management Using Normalization Processes When Creating Inventory and POL Using Import Profiles |
It is now possible to use a dedicated normalization process in the import profile to update the data used in inventory and POL mapping. For example, a library may remove the currency information from the List price field, or add a temporary location information to the field mapped to items. The normalization will only be applied for inventory and for PO Lines, and will not be part of the record when saved to the catalog |
This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Resource Management |
Ability to work with cataloguing levels when importing | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Resource Management |
It is now possible to access the menus in the new MDE using a keyboard. This is especially useful for catalogers that rely on keyboard shortcuts in their work. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Resource Management |
Alma enables the option to show all available external resources. This allows users to browse through all resources. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Primo VE |
For advanced searches, users can now use the Starts With option to search for holdings call numbers. Previously, this option was enabled only for title searches. | Must be configured. |
|
Primo VE |
With this enhancement, you can now display different descriptions for the Requests and Booking Requests forms. |
Must be configured. |
|
Primo VE Increase Maximum Number of Conditions for Local Resource Types |
This enhancement enables you to define a maximum of five conditions per local resource type instead of four conditions | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Primo VE |
With this enhancement, Beacon calls generated by Google bots are no longer tracked in Primo VE Analytics | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Fulfillment |
Two new types of parameters are now available when configuring automatic loan-renewal rules: Locations and Statistical Categories. The Locations parameter allows distinct rules for locations to be created. The Statistical categories parameter is primarily used for analytical reports. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Fulfillment User Statistical Categories as Parameters in Fulfillment-Unit Rules |
User-defined statistical categories can now be used as input to fulfillment-unit rules.This feature makes it possible to use these statistical categories to define patrons' privileges for fulfillment services. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Fulfillment |
You can customize the list of request-cancellation reasons that appears in the dropdown list of reasons when cancelling requests like holds or resource-sharing borrowing requests. | This feature needs to be customized. |
|
Electronic Resource Management Electronic Service - Expiry Date Option for the Service Temporarily Unavailable Message |
Within the Electronic Service Editor page, a new field Display unavailable message until date allows Alma users to set a date where the Temporary Unavailable message will expire and no longer appear in the View it. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Acquisitions Activation Notes in Electronic Resource Activation Task List |
Activation notes are now included in the Electronic Resource Activation Task List. This enables the person creating the PO line to provide relevant information or instructions to the one activating it. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Analytics |
The Alma Analytics user interface was redesigned with several enhanced features that improve the display of information and simplify procedures and workflows. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
|
Analytics |
The Electronic Collection Bibliographic Details dimension was added to the E-Inventory subject area. This enables users to create reports that contain information concerning the bibliographic details of electronic collections. This is especially useful for reports concerning collections without portfolios. | This feature will be applied automatically. |
OCLS has tested the new features and identified the following features that may be useful to colleges. Please note that some features may need to be turned on or configured. If you need assistance, please email helpdesk@ocls.ca.
To view the full list of new features for Alma and Primo VE, see this Alma page and this Primo VE page.
|
New Feature |
Description |
Notes |
|
eResource Management |
When using the Extended Export function, the exported file now supports the export of portfolios with multi-coverage. The exported file is structured and formatted so that it is suitable for use in the portfolio loader. |
This feature will be available automatically. |
|
eResource Management Enable the Improved ProQuest Ebook Central Upload Electronic Holdings |
Improved process - more up-to-date with increased frequency of synchronization, supports the activation of Subscription titles, includes indication of purchase model, automatic activation from CZ |
Colleges who are already using the PQ EBC Upload Electronic Holdings integration, and would like to utilize the improved one, please contact Ex Libris Support. |
|
eResource Management |
Each Community Zone Collection now has 2 new indicators: usage and region. This enables users (that browse the Community Zone in order to activate resources) to better understand which resource is most suitable for activation. |
This feature will be available automatically. The information regarding the number of activation(s) and region(s) is refreshed every week. The information is reflected in the Community Zone collections search results only. |
|
Fulfillment - Course Reserves |
You can now archive courses in Alma, enabling your library to reduce the amount of data you view in Alma without deleting historical information. Archived courses are still available for reference purposes, and you can view statistical data on archived courses via Alma Analytics. Courses can be archived and unarchived individually or in bulk. |
This feature will be available automatically. |
|
Analytics |
The new Primo Discovery subject area allows you to track the number of titles indexed for Primo VE |
This enhancement will be available automatically. |
|
Analytics |
Added fields: General Note, Local Note Subject (Names), Series Statement, Electronic location and access |
This enhancement will be available automatically. |
|
Analytics |
Added reports: Fulfillment Network - Loans by guest patrons per library; Fulfillment Network - Local items loaned at another institution; Fulfillment Network - Requests by source (AFN and Manual) and pickup location (Local and Remote) |
This enhancement will be available automatically. |
|
Analytics New Fields Added to Block and Notes Dimensions of the Users Subject Area |
Added fields: Library Code, Library Description |
This enhancement will be available automatically. |
|
PrimoVE |
The Share export action has been added to the Brief Display, Full Display, and My Favorites pages to allow users to share records with other users using social media applications (WhatsApp, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn). |
This feature needs to be enabled and can be customized. |
|
PrimoVE |
Support the configuration of if email address and description fields are mandatory or optional on the Give Us Feedback form. Support the configuration of feedback managers per category. Support the customization of the Feedback icon and Send button. Support the ability to add links to the Give Us Feedback dialog box via directives. |
This applies to colleges who are already using the Report a Problem widget. This feature needs to be enabled, and can be customized. |
|
PrimoVE |
Guest users will now receive a message when adding records to favorites to let them know that these records are temporary and last during the session only. |
This feature needs to be enabled, and can be customized. |
|
PrimoVE |
Users can be taken directly to the full text of the first entry in the “View Online” section, instead of being taken to the “View Online” section first. |
This feature needs to be enabled. |