LibGuides: Page 1+ Alma &amp; Primo Guide: Transitioning to Alma/Primo

Transitioning to Alma/Primo

Moving to Alma may seem like a big change from your current ILS but we have ways to help. We have identified some common library tasks, like returning books, and mapped them from your current system to Alma.

Click the appropriate link below to find more information on how tasks work in Alma and get access to training resources.

Common Library Tasks - Moving from Sirsi to Alma

This table provides:

a list of common library tasks (column 2)
how they are named and where they are located in Sirsi (column 3)
how they are named in Alma with links to training videos & information (column 4)

You can use the table to find tasks you used to do in Sirsi and then learn about how to do them in Alma by watching the videos or reading the information provided.

	Common tasks	Sirsi	Alma
1	Circulation Tasks: Checking in and out items	Circulation Module: Checking out and Discharging	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in – Manage Patron Services Checking Out Items [3 mins] Returning Items [2 mins]
2	Renewing Items	Circulation Module: Common Tasks - Renew User or Renew Item	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in - Manage Services Renewals [2 mins]
3	Placing a Hold on Materials	Circulation Module: Holds	Fulfillment: Creating an Item Request/Hold Physical Items Requests [4 mins]
4	Creating a New User Account	Circulation Module: Users - New Registration	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
5	Editing a User Account	Users - Modify User	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
6	Paying a Fine	Circulation Module: Common Tasks - Paying Bills	Fulfillment: Checkout/Checkin - Manage Patron Services Viewing a Patron’s Fines and Fees [web page] Receiving Payment for Fines and Fees [web page]
7	Looking up an Item/Bib Record	Cataloguing, Circulation, Reserves and Serial Control Modules: Common Tasks - Item Search and Display	Top Tool Bar: Item Search Searching in Alma [web page] Search for Titles by Call Number Range [YouTube, 2 mins]
8	Creating a Record	Cataloguing Module	Resources: Creating and Editing Records Creating and Editing a Record [6 mins] Metadata Editor (MDE) [web page]
9	Editing a Record	Cataloguing Module	Open record in Alma, select either "Push to MDE" or "Edit" Metadata Editor Overview [5 mins]
10	Acquisitions	N/A	Purchase Order Line Creating Orders [4 mins] Purchase Orders Purchasing Overview [4 mins] Purchase Requests [web page] Creating Invoices and Receiving Creating Invoice (Manual) [5 mins] Creating Invoice (PO) [3 mins] Receiving One Time Print Items [5 mins] Receiving Continuous Print Items [5 mins] Post-Receiving Processing [3 mins] Import Record Import [web page] Batch Import Bibliographic Records [5 mins] Acquisitions Infrastructure Section List [web page]
11	Booking Materials	Booking Module: Creating Booking	Fulfillment: Request Type - Booking Request Booking Requests [2 mins]

Additional References: Advanced Tools Section List [text]

Common Library Tasks - Moving from Evergreen to Alma

This table provides:

a list of common library tasks (column 2)
how they are named and where they are located in Evergreen (column 3)
how they are named in Alma with links to training videos & information (column 4)

You can use the table to find tasks you used to do in Evergreen and then learn about how to do them in Alma by watching the videos or reading the information provided.

	Common tasks	Evergreen	Alma
1	Circulation Tasks: Checking in and out items	Circulation: Check in/Check out	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in – Manage Patron Services Checking Out Items [3 mins] Returning items [2 mins]
2	Renewing Items	Circulation: Renew Items	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in - Manage Services Renewals [2 mins]
3	Placing a Hold on Materials	Search: Search for Patrons /Holds/Place Hold	Fulfillment: Creating an Item Request/Hold Physical Items Requests [4 mins]
4	Creating a New User Account	Circulation: Register Patron	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
5	Editing a User Account	Search: Search for Patrons/Edit	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
6	Paying a Fine	Search: Search for Patrons/Bills/Pay Bill	Admin: User Management/Waiving Fines Viewing a Patron’s Fines and Fees [web page] Receiving Payment for Fines and Fees [web page]
7	Looking up an Item/Bib Record	Search: Search the Catalogue	Top Tool Bar: Item Search Searching in Alma [web page] Searching for Titles by Call Number Range [YouTube, 2 mins]
8	Creating a Record	Cataloging: Search the Catalogue	Resources: Creating and Editing Records Creating and Editing a Record [6 mins] Metadata Editor (MDE) [web page]
9	Editing a Record	Cataloging: Create New MARC Record	Open record in Alma, either "Push to MDE" or "Edit" Metadata Editor Overview [5 mins]
10	Acquisitions	Acquisitions Create Purchase Order Purchase Orders Claim Ready Invoices Invoices Create Invoice	Purchase Order Line Creating Orders [4 mins] Purchase Orders Purchasing Overview [4 mins] Purchase Requests [web page] Creating Invoices and Receiving Creating Invoice (Manual) [5 mins] Creating Invoice (PO) [3 mins] Receiving One Time Print Items [5 mins] Receiving Continuous Print Items [5 mins] Post-Receiving Processing [3 mins] Import Record Import [web page] Batch Import Bibliographic Records [5 mins] Acquisitions Infrastructure Section List [web page]
11	Booking Materials	Booking: Manage Reservations	Fulfillment: Request Type - Booking Request Booking Requests [2 mins]

Additional References: Advanced Tools Section List [text]

Common Library Tasks - Moving from Mandarin to Alma

This table provides:

a list of common library tasks (column 2)
how they are named and where they are located in Mandarin (column 3)
how they are named in Alma with links to training videos & information (column 4)

You can use the table to find tasks you used to do in Mandarin and then learn about how to do them in Alma by watching the videos or reading the information provided.

	Common tasks	Mandarin	Alma
1	Circulation Tasks: Checking in and out items	Circulation Loan Return	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in – Manage Patron Services Checking Out Items [3 mins] Returning items [2 mins]
2	Renewing Items	Circulation Renew	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in - Manage Services Renewals [2 mins]
3	Placing a Hold on Materials	Circulation Reserve	Fulfillment: Creating an Item Request/Hold Physical Items Requests [4 mins]
4	Creating a New User Account	Circulation Create new patron record	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
5	Editing a User Account	Circulation Edit patron record	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
6	Paying a Fine	Circulation Payment	Admin: User Management/Waiving Fines Viewing a Patron’s Fines and Fees [web page] Receiving Payment for Fines and Fees [web page]
7	Looking up an Item/Bib Record	Catalog Standard or enhanced search Circulation Status (for a barcode search)	Top Tool Bar: Item Search Searching in Alma [web page] Search for Titles by Call Number Range [YouTube, 2 mins]
8	Creating a Record	Catalog Add record	Resources: Creating and Editing Records Creating and Editing a Record [6 mins] Metadata Editor (MDE) [web page]
9	Editing a Record	Catalog Edit	Open record in Alma, either "Push to MDE" or "Edit" Metadata Editor Overview [5 mins]
10	Acquisitions	N/A	Purchase Order Line Creating Orders [4 mins] Purchase Orders Purchasing Overview [4 mins] Purchase Requests [web page] Creating Invoices and Receiving Creating Invoice (Manual) [5 mins] Creating Invoice (PO) [3 mins] Receiving One Time Print Items [5 mins] Receiving Continuous Print Items [5 minutes] Post-Receiving Processing [3 mins] Import Record Import [web page] Batch Import Bibliographic Records [5 mins] Acquisitions Infrastructure Section List [web page]
11	Booking Materials	Circulation Booking	Fulfillment: Request Type - Booking Request Booking Requests [2 mins]

Additional References: Advanced Tools Section List [text]

Common Library Tasks - Moving from Surpass to Alma

This table provides:

a list of common library tasks (column 2)
how they are named and where they are located in Surpass (column 3)
how they are named in Alma with links to training videos & information (column 4)

You can use the table to find tasks you used to do in Surpass and then learn about how to do them in Alma by watching the videos or reading the information provided.

	Common tasks	Surpass	Alma
1	Circulation Tasks: Checking in and out items	1. Circulation 2. Transactions 3. Resource tab (scan barcode)	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in – Manage Patron Services Checking Out Items [3 mins] Returning items [2 mins]
2	Renewing Items	1. Circulation 2. Transactions 3. Resource tab (scan barcode)	Fulfillment: Check-out/Check-in - Manage Services Renewals [2 mins]
3	Placing a Hold on Materials	1. Circulation 2. Transactions 3. Enter Patron barcode and/or item barcode)	Fulfillment: Creating an Item Request/Hold Physical Items Requests [4 mins]
4	Creating a New User Account	1. Patrons 2. View 3. Click "add new"	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
5	Editing a User Account	1. Patrons 2. View 3. Enter patron barcode or name 4. Click on pencil image	Admin: User Management/Users Adding and editing (existing) user profiles [5 mins]
6	Paying a Fine	1. Patrons 2. View 3. Ledger 4. Click on + for history and payment	Admin: User Management/Waiving Fines Viewing a Patron’s Fines and Fees [web page] Receiving Payment for Fines and Fees [web page]
7	Looking up an Item/Bib Record	1. Resources 2. View	Top Tool Bar: Item Search Searching in Alma [web page] Search for Titles by Call Number Range [YouTube, 2 mins]
8	Creating a Record	1. Resources 2. Import New or Quick add	Resources: Creating and Editing Records Creating and Editing a Record [6 mins] Metadata Editor (MDE) [web page]
9	Editing a Record	1. Resources 2. View 3. Search title, author, scan barcode, etc. 4. Click on pencil to edit	Open record in Alma, either "Push to MDE" or "Edit" Metadata Editor Overview [5 mins]
10	Acquisitions	N/A	Purchase Order Line Creating Orders [4 mins] Purchase Orders Purchasing Overview [4 mins] Purchase Requests [web page] Creating Invoices and Receiving Creating Invoice (Manual) [5 mins] Creating Invoice (PO) [3 mins] Receiving One Time Print Items [5 mins] Receiving Continuous Print Items [5 mins] Post-Receiving Processing [3 mins] Import Record Import [web page] Batch Import Bibliographic Records [5 mins] Acquisitions Infrastructure Section List [text]
11	Booking Materials	N/A	Fulfillment: Request Type - Booking Request Booking Requests [2 mins]

Additional References: Advanced Tools Section List [text]

Search Features - EDS to Primo VE

This box contains a powerPoint presentation that outlines the differences between the EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) and Primo VE.

EBSCO Discovery Service to Primo VE
This PowerPoint is meant to highlight how the differences and similarities between EDS and Primo VE. The presentation includes information on: searching, brief records display, full record display, and accessing resources from EBSCO Host.
This is a high-level presentation that can be used for either staff familiarization with differences or for student training.