For questions or corrections to this guide, please contact the OCLS Help Desk at helpdesk@ocls.ca.
Thanks!
Below is a list of configurations centrally managed in the Network Zone and distributed to college IZs for the purposes of interoperability, standardization and to save duplication of effort. Below is a list of active configurations distributed from the NZ by OCLS. If distributed from the Network Zone Central Dashboard the settings available will be Proposed or Imposed.
Learn more about the distributed settings.
| Configuration Area | Configuration Page | Parameter | Description |
|---|---|---|---|
| Resources | General > Other Settings | use_record_cataloging_level_by_default = TRUE | This ensures a record's cataloguing level doesn't automatically change with the cataloguing privilege of staff editing the record. This ensures no records are inadvertently prevented from being edited by all. |
| Analytics | General > Analytics Network Settings |
analytics_catalog_available_for_members = TRUE analytics_network_inventory_available_for_members = TRUE |
This enables sharing of analytics data between the network zone and it's members. |
| Consortia Configuration Management > Resources > Cataloguing | Cataloguer Permission Level |
00 Default Level 10 Expert Cataloguer |
Proposed - Only CLO Cataloguing Program Members have level 10. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Physical Fulfillment > Terms of Use and Policies | Page 1+ Borrowing Rule |
The rule includes the following policies:
|
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Physical Fulfillment > Terms of Use and Policies | Page 1+ Lending Rule |
The rule includes the following policies:
|
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Workflow Profiles | Page 1+ Borrowing Workflow Profile | This resource sharing workflow profile is attached to Page 1+ resource sharing partners. It includes the steps: Cancelled by partner, Cancelled By Patron, Cancelled by staff, Conditional, Damaged communicated, Declared lost by partner, Lender check in, Lost communicated, Manual renew, Mediated Patron Renewal, Reactivated, Reject, Renew requested, Request accepted, Waiting for receive digitally, Will supply. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Workflow Profiles | Page 1+ Lending Workflow Profile | This resource sharing workflow profile is attached to Page 1+ resource sharing partners. It includes the steps: Conditional, Lender check in, Patron renewal, Reactivated, Renewal response, Staff renewal. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Workflow Profiles | Omni Borrowing Workflow Profile | This resource sharing workflow profile is attached to the Omni resource sharing partners. It includes the steps: Automatic renew, Cancelled by partner, Cancelled By Patron, Cancelled by staff, Cancel request not accepted, Conditional, Damaged communicated, Declared lost by partner, Lender check in, Lost communicated, Manual renew, Recalled by partner, Reject, Renew requested, Request accepted, Will supply |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Workflow Profiles | Omni Lending Workflow Profile | This resource sharing workflow profile is attached to the Omni resource sharing partners. It includes the steps: Borrower recall, Cancel reply, Conditional, Lender check in, Patron renewal, Renewal response, Staff renewal |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Sending Borrowing Request Rules | Do not send borrowing requests automatically | This Sending Borrowing Request Rule prevents Alma from sending borrowing requests automatically, preserving staff mediation of requests. When a resource sharing request is made, Alma will not automatically send it to the lender to be filled. Instead, Alma will run a locate to locate a lender and then display a status of Ready to Send on the request (Fulfillment > Borrowing Requests). A staff member will need to review these requests and select Send for those that they want to send. |
| Alma Fulfillment menu | Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Partners | Algoma University - Wishart Library (Community), Algonquin College, Brock University - James A. Gibson Library (Community), Cambrian College, Carleton University - Carleton Resource Sharing Library (Community), Centennial College, College Boréal, Conestoga College, Confederation College, Durham College (Ontario Tech) - North Campus, Durham College (Ontario Tech) - Whitby, Fanshawe College, Fleming College, George Brown College, Georgian College, Humber College, La Cité, Lakehead University - Lakehead Resource Sharing Library (Community), Lambton College, Laurentian University - Laurentian University (Community), Loyalist College of Applied Arts and Technology Library - LOYALIST COLLEGE LIBRARY (Community), McMaster University - McMaster Resource Sharing Library (Community), Mohawk College, Niagara College, Northern College, OCAD University - OCAD U - Dorothy H. Hoover Library (Community), Ontario Tech University/Durham College - Ontario Tech Resource Sharing Library (Community), Queen's University - Queen's Resource Sharing Library (Community), Sault College, Seneca College, Sheridan College, St. Clair College, St. Lawrence College, Toronto Metropolitan University - Toronto Metropolitan University Libraries (Community), Trent University Library & Archives - Bata Library (Community), University of Guelph - McLaughlin Library (Community), University of Ottawa - University of Ottawa Library (Community), University of Waterloo - Dana Porter Library (Community), University of Windsor - Windsor Resource Sharing Library (Community), Western University - Western Resource Sharing Library (Community), Wilfrid Laurier University - Wilfrid Laurier University Resource Sharing Library (Community), York University - York Resource Sharing Library (Community) | ISO resource sharing partner profiles for all Page 1+ colleges and Omni schools |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Locate Profiles | 01OCLS_ALGON_ALMA, 01OCLS_BOREAL_ALMA, 01OCLS_BROWN_ALMA, 01OCLS_CAMB_ALMA, 01OCLS_CENTENN_ALMA, 01OCLS_CONEST_ALMA, 01OCLS_CONFED_ALMA, 01OCLS_FANSH_ALMA, 01OCLS_FLEM_ALMA, 01OCLS_GEORG_ALMA, 01OCLS_HUMB_ALMA, 01OCLS_LACITE_ALMA, 01OCLS_LAMB_ALMA, 01OCLS_MOHAWK_ALMA, 01OCLS_NIAGARA_ALMA, 01OCLS_NORTH_ALMA, 01OCLS_SAULT_ALMA, 01OCLS_SHER_ALMA, 01OCLS_STCLAIR_ALMA, 01OCLS_STLAW_ALMA, 01SENC_INST_ALMA, Durham College (Ontario Tech) - North Campus, Durham College (Ontario Tech) – Whitby, Loyalist College of Applied Arts and Technology Library - LOYALIST COLLEGE LIBRARY (Community) | Locate profiles for all Page 1+ college partners and Omni schools |
| Alma Fulfillment menu | Fulfillment > Resource Sharing > Rota Templates | Page 1+ East, Page 1+ GTA, Page 1+ North, Page 1+ West, Omni Digital |
Four non-ordered Rota Templates with Page 1+ colleges, grouped by geographic proximity, have been distributed from the NZ. The members in each Rota Template are: Page 1+ East: Algonquin College, La Cité, St. Lawrence College, Loyalist College of Applied Arts and Technology Library - LOYALIST COLLEGE LIBRARY (Community) Page 1+ GTA: George Brown College, Georgian College, Humber College, Sheridan College, Centennial College, Seneca College,Durham College (Ontario Tech) - North Campus, Durham College (Ontario Tech) – Whitby Page 1+ North: College Boréal, Cambrian College, Confederation College, Northern College, Sault College, Nipissing University-Canadore College - Harris Learning Library (Community) (inactive) Page 1+ West: Conestoga College, Fanshawe College, Lambton College, St. Clair College, Mohawk College, Niagara College A non-ordered rota for digital resource sharing with Omni partners has also been distributed to colleges. The members of the rota are: Algoma University - Wishart Library (Community), York University - York Resource Sharing Library (Community), Queen's University - Queen's Resource Sharing Library (Community), University of Guelph - McLaughlin Library (Community), OCAD University - OCAD U - Dorothy H. Hoover Library (Community), Toronto Metropolitan University - Toronto Metropolitan University Libraries (Community), Lakehead University - Lakehead Resource Sharing Library (Community), Nipissing University-Canadore College - Harris Learning Library (Community), University of Waterloo - Dana Porter Library (Community), Brock University - James A. Gibson Library (Community), University of Windsor - Windsor Resource Sharing Library (Community),University of Ottawa - University of Ottawa Library (Community), Western University - Western Resource Sharing Library (Community), Wilfrid Laurier University - Wilfrid Laurier University Resource Sharing Library (Community), Ontario Tech University/Durham College - Ontario Tech Resource Sharing Library (Community), Carleton University - Carleton Resource Sharing Library (Community), Trent University Library & Archives - Bata Library (Community), Laurentian University - Laurentian University (Community), McMaster University - McMaster Resource Sharing Library (Community)
|
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | ignore_lender_due_date=false | This parameter tells Alma to use the due date set by the lender and not allow the borrowing institution to override that due date. Additionally, this parameter controls the calculation of the expiration of items on the hold shelf. When set to false, the expiration date is calculated as the Due Date from the borrowing resource sharing request minus the Delivery Delay (days) from the Resource Sharing Partner record. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_auto_request_lending = true | Set to true to enable automatically placing move/digitization requests for incoming lending requests that match an existing resource. A move request is placed if the resource is requested in physical format. A digitization request is placed if the resource is requested in digital format. The digitization department and pickup location for the resource are specified in rs_default_digitization_department and rs_default_pickup_location, respectively. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_auto_request_lending_with_volume_issue=true | The default for this parameter is true, which corresponds to the existing functionality. This parameter has no effect on borrowing requests that do not contain a volume or issue. Set to false to prevent a move/digitization request from being automatically created for a lending request if the borrowing request sent to the lender contains a volume or issue because the move/digitization request may not identify the correct volume or issue. If set to general, the move/digitization request is considered a general request. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_block_sending_requester_info=true | Enables patron information to be suppressed from a resource sharing request that is sent to another institution. The default is false. When set to true, the Send Requester Information checkbox on the ISO partner parameters is hidden. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_external_id_prefix=code | This sets the external identifier format. Possible values are code or id. If set to code, the external ID is created as {institution code + a generated number} (as it was previously). If set to id, the external ID is created as {customer Id + institution id + a generated number}. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_uresolver_locate = true | Set to true to indicate that the locate process for electronic resources should consider coverage information similar to how the Alma link resolver would find services. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_default_digitization_department=DIGI_DEPT_INST | The name of the digitization department to which the resource that matches a lending request is to be moved. Sets the default digitization department for resource sharing requests. All institutions have an out of the box department called DIGI_DEPT_INST which made it possible to distribute this setting from the NZ. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | uresolver_remote_register=None | This setting prevents a Register option from showing up in Primo VE when the user is looking at inventory from another institution. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | generate_resource_sharing_temp_barcode=true | Set to true to indicate that the resource sharing library can use an automatically generated temporary barcode to receive and circulate a borrowed item. The barcode is based on the resource sharing request’s external identifier (see the External identifier field in the Request Attribute Field table in Creating a Borrowing Request). Otherwise set to false. |
| Fulfillment | Configuration > Fulfillment > General > Other Settings | rs_use_tou_for_lost_item=true | This parameter was part of the May 2024 Alma New Release. Previously, when borrowing institution marked an item as lost, the request was changed to lost communicated and no fines and fees were applied to the lost loan. The lender received a message regarding the lost item, and they had to manually send a message with the fines and fees that would be applied to the borrowing institution. The borrowing institution had to manually add the fines and fees to the patron. When this parameter is set to true, fines and fees will be added to the patron, based on the borrowing library’s Loan TOU. |
| Consortia Configuration Management > Resources > General | Multi-Step Match Configuration |
Serial - Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method Serial - ISSN (exact subfield match)/024/035 Non-Serial - Unique OCLC Identifier Match Method Non-Serial - ISBN (exact subfield match)/024/035 |
Imposed - In order for matching to be interoperable between IZs and NZs when importing records. |
| Consortia Configuration Management > Resources > General | Other Settings | enable_nz_record_assignment=TRUE | Enables bibliographic record assignment notification (communication) across networked environment to staff with a cataloguer role |
| Discovery > Other | Customer Settings | title_equals_exact_phrase_one_subfield=true | Allow users using the equals exact phrase operator in the Primo Advanced Search to search by title alone (MARC 245$a), even if it has a subtitle (MARC 245$b). Previously and by default, the user has to include both the title and subtitle when exact phrase searching. |
OCLS runs a duplicate title analysis semi-annually on bibliographic records in an effort to minimize duplicate records in support of best practices in the Network Zone. Below is a list of duplicate titles that have been merged. Primo VE permalinks for these titles will update accordingly.