LibGuides: OCLS Services for Page 1+: IZ E-Resources

Overview

This page provides information about e-resources that, for one reason or another, must be managed in the colleges' Institution Zones (IZs), even when they are ordered/renewed through OCLS. These e-resources are incompatible with the Network Zone.

E-Resources with Unique URLs

Under certain circumstances, e-resources accessed by a URL that includes a unique identifier for the college (an institutional UID) can't be managed in the Network Zone (NZ). In these cases, if a licensed college wishes to include the e-resource in Alma/Primo, they must manage it in their Institution Zone (IZ) instead.

This situation applies in all cases of unique URLs where there is no Community Zone (CZ) collection available.

Where there is a CZ collection, it also applies in the following circumstances:

The collection has no linking parameters fields where UID values can be entered; and,
There are no applicable line items in the Custom Linking for Central Index Databases Mapping Table.

There are different options available for how to manage e-resources with unique URLs in your IZ, depending on the nature of the e-resource.

IF	THEN
CZ database-type collection is available	Activate it in your IZ. In the Electronic Collection Editor, enter your unique URL in the Level URL (override) field on the Additional tab.
MARC records are available	Create local package collection in your IZ. Use an import profile to import the MARC records into your IZ. For step-by-step instructions, see Resource Management – Using Import Profiles for E-Resources Import – Workflow.
No CZ collection and no MARC records available	Create a local database collection. Note: A bib (MARC) record must be paired with the local database collection for the e-resource to appear in Primo VE.

Need Support?

If you need support in creating an import profile or local collection, please reach out to helpdesk@ocls.ca.

All Westlaw products
Some Films on Demand collections
E-Marketer
Kanopy
InfoLit Core (Credo)
Safetyhub
Transparent Language
FP Advisor
Creative Library (Adforum Maydream)
4 Seasons of Reconciliation units (Productions Cazabon)
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy
Gale Literature: LitFinder

Collections for Upload Electronic Holdings Integration Profiles

Overview

Upload Electronic Holdings Integration Profiles automatically update your Alma/Primo records whenever you order a new e-resource or cancel a renewal. One profile per vendor is required and there are limited vendors for which these profiles are available. Please see the sections about KBART on the Integrations page for more information about the Upload Electronic Holdings Integration Profiles.

Certain CZ collections must be activated for an Upload Electronic Holdings Integration Profile to work, and these collections must be activated in your IZ.

If you wish to use an Upload Electronic Holdings Integration Profile, please let us know at helpdesk@ocls.ca and we'll opt you out of NZ collections for that vendor.

Collections in My Electronic Resources By Provider

Overview

The My Electronic Resources By Provider tool provides an option for central management of your ProQuest e-resources. With this tool, you can review the ProQuest collections in the CZ that are available to your institution, including those for open access and complementary e-resources; identify which are activated in your IZ and which are not; and activate/deactivate collections one-by-one or in bulk.

To access the tool, click on Resources in your Alma sidebar, and then click on the My Electronic Resources By Provider link under the "Manage Inventory" heading.

By default, OCLS will activate all collections you've ordered through OCLS's eResources Management service in the NZ. You can use My Electronic Resources By Provider to activate any other collections available to your college in your IZ.

If you wish to use My Electronic Resources By Provider to manage all your ProQuest e-resources, please let us know at helpdesk@ocls.ca and we'll opt you out of ProQuest collections in the NZ.