For questions/feedback on the standards & documentation, contact the Metadata/Cataloguing Subcommittee co-chairs, Stacey Boileau and Dijana Kladnjakovic.
For LibGuide issues, contact Aura Hill.
Definition: A library database is an electronic collection of records containing either full-text documents (text, video, music), citations, or abstracts of articles (or chapters in books).
Special notes: These rules should be applied to all database records.
Example: See Database Cataloguing Example at bottom of this page.
Use this table to complete the MARC fields in your record.
| MARC Field Code | Value Instructions | Additional Information |
| Leader/06* Type or Record |
Select a | This value is used to identify material and resource type in Alma and Primo VE And allows for faceting NOTE: Needs to be treated as a database not a portfolio |
| Leader/07* Bibliographic Level |
Select c | This value is used to identify material and resource type in Alma and Primo VE And allows for faceting |
| Leader/17 Encoding Level |
Select one of: #/1/2/3/4/5/7/8/u/z |
|
| Leader/18 Descriptive Cataloging Form |
Select one of: a/i | Used to support readability using standardized formatting |
| 001 Control Number |
Consult MARC Standards | If available |
| 003 Control Number Identifier |
Consult MARC Standards | If available |
| 007/00* Category of Material |
Select c | Used for Alma functionality such as Alma Search Index and analytics. |
| 007/01* Specific Material Designation |
Select r | Used for Alma functionality such as Alma Search Index and analytics. |
| 008/06* Type of Date |
Select one of: c/d/may be others that are not updated |
|
| 008/07-10* Date 1 |
Enter publication year (e.g. 2017) |
Used for faceting by date in Primo VE instead of 26X. If unknown define in 008/06 as n |
| 008/11-14* Date 2 |
If 008/06 = c | Date 2 must equal 9999 |
| 008/15-17 Place of Publication |
Select place code | URL to assist in https://www.loc.gov/marc/countries/countries_name.html |
| 008/18* Frequency |
Select k | |
| 008/21* Type of Continuing Resource |
Select d | |
| 008/35-37* Language |
Select appropriate letter code for your resource | Used for faceting by language in Primo VE |
| 010 LC Control Number |
Enter LC number | If available |
| 016 NCL |
Enter LC number | If available |
|
035* |
Consult MARC Standards |
If available |
| 040* Cataloging Source |
Consult MARC Standards | If it is RDA, should have $eRDA |
| 041* Language Code |
Consult MARC Standards | Used for bilingual and American Sign Language items. If $a or $d exists and is followed by another $a, it is bilingual |
|
050* |
Consult MARC Standards | 050 $a Classification; 050 $b Cutter (If available) |
|
055* |
Consult MARC Standards | In absence of 050 |
|
090* |
Consult MARC Standards |
In the absence of an 050 and 055 |
| 100* Personal Name |
Consult MARC Standards | Mandatory when 245 first indicator = 1; When no 1XX must have 7XX; |
| 110* Corporate Name |
Consult MARC Standards | Mandatory when 245 first indicator = 1; When no 1XX must have 7XX; |
| 111* Meeting Name |
Consult MARC Standards | Mandatory when 245 first indicator = 1; When no 1XX must have 7XX; |
| 130* Uniform Title |
Consult MARC Standards |
Mandatory when 245 first indicator = 1; |
| 245* Title Statement |
Consult MARC Standards | |
| 246* Variant Title |
Consult MARC Standards | If needed particularly for bilingual titles, earlier title forms |
| 264* Imprint |
Consult MARC Standards | Or if AACR2 record, the 260 is required |
| 300* Physical Description |
Consult MARC Standards | |
| 310* Current Publication Frequency |
Consult MARC Standards | As assigned in 008/18 k |
| 336* Content Type |
## $atext$btxt$2rdacontent | |
| 337* Media Type |
## $acomputer$bc$2rdamedia | |
| 338* Carrier Type |
## $aonline resource$bcr$2rdacarrier | |
| 500 General Note |
Consult MARC Standards | "Viewed on..." (MARC record is representative of item as heard on this date) |
| 546* Language Note |
Consult MARC Standards | Mandatory if bilingual or American Sign Language |
| 6XX* Subject Heading |
Consult MARC Standards | 600 or 610 or 611 or 630 or 650 Tag indicator two = 0 for LC Tag indicator two = 6 for RVM |
| 7XX* Added Entry |
Consult MARC Standards | Required if no 1XX field. Add for 1st statement of responsibility if record is a title main entry; Include for additional statements of responsibility; |
| 856* Electronic Location and Access |
Consult MARC Standards | Necessary for access |
Database Example
Leader 01153nac a2200265ui 4500
001 991004759946207306
005 20221110104622.0
007 cr#|||||||||||
008 221110c20019999xx\k|\d|o||||||
040 \\$aOCLS$beng$cOCLS$erda
245 00$aCochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
264 \1$aOxford:$bCochrane Collaboration,$c2001.
300 \\$a1 online resource.
310 \\$aContinuously updated
336 \\$atext$btxt$2rdacontent
337 \\$acomputer$bc$2rdamedia
338 \\$aonline resource$bcr$2rdacarrier
362 0\$a2001.
520 \\$a"The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) is the leading journal and database for systematic reviews in health care. The CDSR includes Cochrane Reviews (systematic reviews) and protocols for Cochrane Reviews as well as editorials and supplements." From the publisher's website.
588 \\aTitle taken from homepage: https://www.cochranelibrary.com/cdsr/about-cdsr, November 28, 2022
650 \0$aEvidence-based Medicine$vDatabases.
650 \0$aHealth Services Research$vDatabases.
650 \0$aMedicine$vDatabases.
650 \0$aMeta-Analysis
650 \0$aPeriodicals
650 \0$aRandomized Controlled Trials$vDatabases.
710 2\\$aCohrane Collaboration (UK)
856 4\$uhttps://search.ebscohost.